For Me, The Key To Happiness is…Gratitude

008

As I awoke to this glorious sunrise over the ocean my heart swelled with thanksgiving as it does each morning at sunrise. As the day gets going, however, sometimes I’m going at such a high speed that my grateful heart has trouble keeping up with me and I find myself frazzled or beset by picayune irritations. This is usually the time of day I get to my “kick butt” yoga class and re-unite with my heart 🙂

This reunion with my heart always starts with “re-realizing” how grateful I am for every single thing in life both small and large. As I sweat through yoga, I give thanks for my healthy, strong body that can DO yoga and show up on the mat every day! I am grateful for my heart that beats, my lungs that breathe, my complex body systems with hormones and enzymes galore…and it’s entirely done automatically for me. Wow! When I move on to gratitude for the conveniences I often take for granted (running water, electricity, abundant food and water, A/C, heat, a vehicle, available gasoline…and on and on and on), I give thanks that life is made so smooth by these everyday things that even 50 years ago….weren’t so everyday!

Then there’s the major gratitude for amazing and loving friends; my family; my two beloved black cats that are “angels with fur” in their sweet natures, humor and unconditional love; and for the tremendous abundance for which I have worked very hard and for which I’m grateful to be compensated!

Last Saturday, a friend texted me a wonderful piece about gratitude which I can quote but, with apologies, for which I am unsure of the source: ” Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today and creates a vision for tomorrow.”

On Sunday, guess what the theme of the sermon was?…yes…Gratitude! We were asked during the sermon to write down on our programs all the things for which we were grateful and refer to it during the week. This week I have had so much to be grateful for that I didn’t even need to refer to that list.

I think often on how to turn around feelings of irritation, anxiety, restlessness, negativity and even despair. For me, the one and only answer, the only thing that “works” is…GRATITUDE 🙂

011

This entry was posted in Personal Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.